association logo
sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
general-news adge feature-articles
Gustave Eiffel :
>> Eiffel’s legacy
Gustave Eiffel was not only an audacious and inventive constructor, a wise business man and great leader of men, he also became, in the later part of his life, one of the greatest French scientist and patron in the fields of aerodynamics, meteorology, and radio waves broadcast. But his scientific activities have been largely overshadowed by the success of the tower that bears his name…
Cocteau La Tour
One must agree that this majestic « Iron Lady » continues to impress today as much as it did yesterday.

Roundly decried by the intellectuals at the time of its constructions, it has been since celebrated by great poets like Apollinaire, Cendrars, Aragon and Cocteau.

For great painters like Delaunay, Seurat and Fernand Léger, the tower has been the symbol of modernity.

For filmmakers, the set for amazing action sequences.

For architects, it has become a weight unit representing 8000 tons, which they commonly use to compare the tower with their own creations. Thus the roof of the new Beijing Opera is equivalent to 3 Eiffel Towers and the roadway of the Millau Viduc to 5.

For Parisians, for the French in general, and for tourists, the Eiffel Tower is the symbol of Paris and France par excellence. It is from its structure that the fireworks of Bastille day and of New Year’s Eve are launched, and can be seen on TV screens around the globe.

Let us not forget however the rest of Gustave Eiffel’s works - one of the first great international builder of bridges, railway stations, metal structural works, lock gates, lighthouses, gasworks, prefabricated houses or churches in Europe, in the Americas or in Asia.

If a part of those constructions has unfortunately disappeared because of the two world wars or of obsolescence, his main works still stand proudly, such as the Maria Pia bridge in Porto in Portugal, the Garabit viaduct in France, the Budapest railway station in Hungary, and the statue of Liberty in New York USA.

The same is true for the innovative construction techniques that Eiffel developed to build his bridges and viaducts, such as the use of cantilevers, or the “hurling” of a bridge’s central span between existing bridge piles, that are still regularly used today by large international construction firms.

Proud of this rich legacy, the Eiffel family created in 1995 the Association of the Descendants of Gustave Eiffel to defend the memory and the image of Gustave Eiffel, and to protect his works. This is how the Eiffel bridge in Bordeaux came to be saved from destruction, and that Eiffel’s tomb in Levallois or Eiffel’s commemorative monument in Dijon have been or will soon be renovated by their municipalities at the request of our association. There remains a lot more to be done, however.

Descendants, admirers, local residents, it is up to all of us, uniting our common efforts, to defend and protect Eiffel’s rare and masterly legacy.

Sylvain Yeatman-Eiffel
Honorary Chairman of the Association of the Descendants of Gustave Eiffel
Paris, December 2013 – on the occasion of the 90th anniversary of Gustave Eiffel’s death, and of the renovation of the gustaveeiffel.com web-site.

association logo
sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
actualite adge articles de fond
Gustave Eiffel :
>> Son héritage
Gustave Eiffel, après avoir été un constructeur audacieux et inventif, tout en étant un homme d’affaires avisé et un grand meneur d’hommes, est devenu à la fin de sa vie, l’un des plus grands savants mécènes français dans les domaines de l’aérodynamisme, de la météorologie et des transmissions hertziennes. Mais son rôle scientifique a été en grande partie occulté par le succès de la Tour qui porte son nom...
Cocteau La Tour
Il faut dire que cette majestueuse « Dame de Fer » a marqué les esprits hier autant qu’aujourd’hui.

Décriée par les intellectuels au moment de sa construction, elle a été chantée depuis par les grands poètes comme Apollinaire, Cendrars, Aragon et Cocteau.

Pour les grands peintres comme Delaunay, Seurat et Fernand Léger, elle sera le symbole de la modernité.

Pour les cinéastes, la Tour sera un lieu d’aventures.

Pour les architectes elle deviendra une unité de poids représentant 7000 tonnes car ils comparent le poids de leurs ouvrages avec celui de la tour, c’est ainsi que le toit de l’opéra de Pékin est équivalent à 3 tours Eiffel et que le tablier du viaduc de Millau à 5 tours Eiffel.

Pour les Parisiens, les Français et tous les touristes, la Tour Eiffel est le symbole de Paris et de la France et c’est de sa structure que sont lancés chaque année les feux d’artifice des 14 juillet et 31 décembre dont les images font le tour du monde télévisuel.

N’oublions pas cependant le reste de l’œuvre de Gustave Eiffel, un des premiers grands constructeurs internationaux de ponts, de gares, de charpentes métalliques, d’écluses, de fermes de barrages, de phares, d’usines à gaz, de maisons ou églises préfabriquées en Europe, aux Amériques ou en Asie.

Si une partie de ses ouvrages a malheureusement disparue en raison des séquelles des deux guerres mondiales ou de leur obsolescence, ses principaux ouvrages sont toujours en place comme le pont Maria Pia à Porto au Portugal, le viaduc de Garabit dans le Cantal en France, la gare de Budapest en Hongrie et la Statue de la Liberté à New York aux USA.

Il en est de même des nouvelles techniques de construction qu’il avait mises au point pour construire ses ponts et viaducs et notamment la technique de lançage des tabliers sur des galets oscillants et la technique de porte à faux qui sont aujourd’hui couramment utilisées par les grands constructeurs internationaux.

Fière de ce riche héritage, la famille Eiffel a créé en 1995 l’Association des Descendants de Gustave Eiffel, qui œuvre pour la défense de la mémoire et de l’image de Gustave Eiffel, et pour la sauvegarde de ses ouvrages. C’est ainsi que le pont Eiffel de Bordeaux a pu être sauvé après l’obtention de son classement dans l’inventaire des monuments historiques, et que la tombe de Gustave Eiffel à Levallois ou le monument commémoratif à la gloire d’Eiffel de Dijon ont pu être rénovés par leurs municipalités à la demande de l’Association.

Il reste encore beaucoup à faire.

Descendants, admirateurs, riverains, il nous appartient à tous, en unissant nos efforts, de défendre la pérennité de cette œuvre rare et magistrale.

Sylvain Yeatman-Eiffel
Président d’honneur de l’Association des Descendants de Gustave Eiffel
Paris, Décembre 2013 – à l’occasion du 90 ème anniversaire de la mort de Gustave Eiffel et de la rénovation du site gustaveeiffel.com