sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
general-news adge feature-articles
Gustave Eiffel : His life
>> The Glory
The 1870’s and 1880’s are a glorious period for Gustave Eiffel. From all over the world, all now call on the G. Eiffel et Cie. company to create the most important and the most complex works of the period, such as:

- the Pest train station in Hungary – 145 meters long, 25 meters high – the first train station with a visible metallic façade, and one of many constructions by Eiffel in Eastern Europe ;

- the monumental Maria Pia bridge across the Douro in Portugal – 353 meters long, longest span : 160 meters, height 61 meters – a pure and perfect shape, technically as well as esthetically ;

- the Garabit viaduct, above the Truyère ‐ 565 meters long, longest span: 165 meters, height: 122 meters – the new system of piles used (without intertwining), and patented by Eiffel, will later be used on the Eiffel Tower.

- The Cubzac road bridge, on the Dordogne – 1045 meters long, 3284 tons of frame – an audacious construction that used both the techniques of cantilevers and of the “hurling” of the central span ;

- the internal structure of the Statue of Liberty in New York, designed by the sculptor Bartholdi to celebrate the centenary of the US Independence – 120 tons of frame, supporting 80 tons of copper sculpture – Eiffel’s involvement was crucial to make the project technically viable ;

- the metallic structures of the Bon Marché store and of the Crédit Lyonnais Bank grand hall in Paris; or the dome of the Nice observatory –22 meters wide, ingeniously floating on water to allow to rotate it by hand ;

Smaller but very lucrative Eiffel constructions – ready to assemble “with less than 12 men” – also find their way all across the globe – Vietnam, Bolivia, Algeria, Java...





At the same period, Gustave Eiffel loses his wife prematurely, in 1877. It’s a devastating blow for him. His eldest daughter, Claire, who will also second her father in his work, takes over the day to day running of the family. She will remain closely by his side, even after her marriage to Adolphe Salles.

sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
actualite adge articles de fond
Gustave Eiffel : Sa Vie
>> La Gloire
Les décennies 1870 et 1880 sont celles de la gloire. Dans le monde entier on fait désormais appel à la société G. Eiffel et Cie. pour les ouvrages les plus importants et les plus complexes, comme par exemple :

- la gare de Pest en Hongrie – 145 mètres de long, 25 mètres de haut – la première gare à avoir une façade métallique apparente, et une des nombreuses constructions Eiffel en Europe de l’Est ;

- le monumental pont Maria Pia sur le Douro au Portugal – 353 mètres de long, portée de l’arc : 160 mètres, hauteur : 61 mètres – une forme d’une pureté rare, aussi technique qu’esthétique;

- le viaduc de Garabit, au-dessus de la Truyère – 565 mètres de long, corde du grand arc : 165 mètres, hauteur : 122 mètres – le nouveau système de piles sans entretoisements utilisé, breveté par Eiffel, servira également pour la Tour Eiffel.

- le pont routier de Cubzac, sur la Dordogne
– 1045 mètres de long, 3284 tonnes de charpente – une construction audacieuse mêlant les techniques de porte-à-faux et de lançage ;

- l’ossature de la Statue de la Liberté à New York, œuvre du sculpteur Bartholdi célébrant le centenaire de l’indépendance des Etats-Unis – 120 tonnes de charpente, soutenant une enveloppe de cuivre de 80 tonnes – l’intervention d’Eiffel est décisive pour rendre le projet techniquement viable ;

- les charpentes métalliques du magasin du Bon Marché et du grand hall du Crédit Lyonnais à Paris ou encore la coupole de l’observatoire de Nice - 22 mètres de large, en suspension sur un bain d’eau permettant sa rotation à la main.

Des constructions Eiffel plus modestes mais très lucratives – prêtes à être assemblées « avec moins de 12 hommes » – se retrouvent également aux quatre coins du monde – Vietnam, Bolivie, Algérie, Java...





En 1877, Gustave Eiffel perd son épouse prématurément. C’est un terrible choc pour lui. Sa fille ainée Claire, qui le secondera également dans son travail, reprend dès lors les rênes de la famille. Elle restera toujours aux côtés de son père, même après son mariage avec Adolphe Salles.