association logo
sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
general-news adge feature-articles
Gustave Eiffel :
>> His life
  • Gustave’s youth

    Gustave Eiffel was born on December 15th 1832 in Dijon, France. His father, François Alexandre Boenickhausen, known as « Eiffel », was a former hussar from Napoleon’s armies. But the figurehead of the family was certainly his mother, Catherine Mélanie... read more >>

  • The first successes

    When Charles Nepveu’s business faced unexpected financial difficulties, Gustave Eiffel decided to continue to work for him, even without pay. Several bridges designed by the young engineer won tenders organized by rail way companies. When Nepveu’s company is finally absorbed by the... read more >>

  • The Glory

    The 1870’s and 1880’s are a glorious period for Gustave Eiffel. From all over the world, all now call on the G. Eiffel et Cie. company to create the most important and the most complex works of the period, such as:
    ‐ the Pest train station in Hungary... read more >>

  • The Eiffel Tower

    The monument the most easily associated with the memory of the great engineer is without doubt the famous tower that bears his name. Conceived with his two main collaborators, Maurice Koechlin and Émile Nouguier, as well as with the collaboration of the architect Steven Sauvestre ... read more >>

  • The forgotten scientific work

    At the beginning of the 1890s, Gustave Eiffel finds himself involved, very unintentionally, with the setbacks of the Panama Canal, for which he had designed the giant locks. Hurt by the groundless accusations he are targeted against him – the press and the politicians are pressing ... read more >>

  • Death of Gustave Eiffel

    An extraordinary engineer, a great scientist, a leading “captain of industry”, a patriarchal figure respected by his family, Gustave Eiffel died with all possible honors on December 27th 1923 in Paris in his luxurious residence of 1 rue Rabelais (now destroyed).

association logo
sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
actualite adge articles de fond
Gustave Eiffel :
>> Sa Vie
  • La Jeunesse de Gustave

    Gustave Eiffel est né le 15 décembre 1832 à Dijon. Son père est un ancien hussard des armées napoléoniennes, François Alexandre Boenickhausen, dit « Eiffel ». Mais la figure centrale de la famille est certainement sa mère, Catherine Mélanie Moneuse. Fille d’un commerçant en bois, elle a l’idée de se lancer ... lire la suite >>

  • Les premiers succès

    Charles Nepveu connait des difficultés financières mais Gustave Eiffel choisit de rester avec lui, même sans recevoir de salaire. Plusieurs projets du jeune ingénieur Eiffel sont retenus dans des appels d’offre de construction de ponts. Lorsque la société de Nepveu est absorbée par la Compagnie Générale des Chemins de Fers ... lire la suite >>

  • La Gloire

    Les décades 1870 et 1880 sont celles de la gloire. Dans le monde entier ont fait désormais appel à la société G. Eiffel et Cie. pour les ouvrages les plus importants et les plus complexes, comme par exemple :
    - la gare de Pest en Hongrie - une des premières constructions associant métal et maçonnerie ... lire la suite >>

  • La Tour Eiffel

    Le monument le plus aisément associé à la mémoire du grand ingénieur est sans aucun doute la célèbre tour qui porte son nom. Conçue avec l'aide de deux de ses principaux collaborateurs Maurice Koechlin et Émile Nouguier, ainsi qu’avec la collaboration de l’architecte Steven Sauvestre, cet incroyable projet destiné ... lire la suite >>

  • L'œuvre scientifique méconnue

    Au début des années 1890, Gustave Eiffel est mêlé bien malgré lui aux déboires du canal de Panama, pour lequel il avait conçu les écluses géantes. Blessé par les accusations sans fondement dont il fera l’objet – on cherche à tout prix des boucs émissaires - et dont il sera ensuite entièrement lavé par la justice ... lire la suite >>

  • Mort de Gustave Eiffel

    Ingénieur hors du commun, grand scientifique, capitaine d’industrie, patriarche respecté par les siens, Gustave Eiffel s‘éteint avec tous les honneurs le 27 décembre 1923 à Paris dans son hôtel particulier du 1 rue Rabelais (désormais détruit).