sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
general-news adge feature-articles
Gustave Eiffel : His life
>> The Eiffel Tower
The monument the most easily associated with the memory of the great engineer is without doubt the famous tower that bears his name. Conceived with his two main collaborators, Maurice Koechlin and Émile Nouguier, as well as with the collaboration of the architect Steven Sauvestre, that incredible project was created to mark the opening of the 1889 World’s Fair and was financed by Gustave Eiffel himself for 80% of the costs, in exchange of an initial concession of 20 years.
Still extremely impressive today, that tower of 1000 feet was an even more formidable technical challenge at the time it was built. One must not forget that it was almost twice as high as the tallest monument of the day: the Washington Monument and its 169 meters, itself erected just a few years earlier in 1884. Gustave has had to fight against all sorts of odds to succeed, on the building site as well as outside. There were many opponents to the project, including among the local elite ‐ the signatories of the notorious « Artists Protest ». Once the construction was over, another battle began to ensure that the tower would last: it was initially planned to be dismantled after 20 years.

The Tower took only 26 months to build, from January 28 th 1987 to March 30th 1889, five month of which were spend the foundations alone. The 18 000 parts were designed and manufactured with an error margin of less than a tenth of a millimeter at the Eiffel workshop in Levallois, then driven by cart to the Champs de Mars where they were hauled up by cranes that moved up on the construction using the tracks of the future elevators, and assembled by a team of just around 250 workers. That gigantic « Meccano » required the setting of some 2 500 000 rivet joints, 1 000 000 of which were set directly on site.



The success of the Eiffel Tower was instant. It quickly became the symbol of Paris, and for most foreigners the symbol of France. It currently attracts close to 7 million visitors each year, with a total of more than 250 million since its opening.


Right after the tower, Gustave Eiffel embarked in 1890 on another project of epic proportions : an ingenious « underwater bridge » to cross the English channel. Refused in the end by the authorities for purely political reasons, Eiffel’s designs already closely foreshadowed what would become the « Eurotunnel », some 104 years later.

sa vie ses ouvrages son heritage
roles actions devenir membre sympathisant
actualite adge articles de fond
Gustave Eiffel : Sa Vie
>> La Tour Eiffel
Le monument le plus aisément associé à la mémoire du grand ingénieur est sans aucun doute la célèbre tour qui porte son nom. Conçue avec l'aide de deux de ses principaux collaborateurs Maurice Koechlin et Émile Nouguier, ainsi qu’avec la collaboration de l’architecte Stephen Sauvestre, cet incroyable projet destiné à célébrer l’exposition universelle de 1889, sera financé par Gustave Eiffel lui-même à hauteur de 80% en contrepartie d'une concession d'exploitation initiale de 20 ans.
Toujours impressionnante aujourd’hui, cette tour de 300 mètres est un pari technique encore plus incroyable pour l’époque. Il ne faut pas oublier que c’est près de deux fois plus que le plus haut monument de l’époque – le Washington Monument et ses 169 mètres, lui-même érigé tout récemment en 1884. Gustave devra défendre sa tour contre vents et marrés, sur le chantier comme en dehors. Les opposants sont nombreux, notamment parmi les célébrités de l’époque : les signataires de la tristement célèbre « Protestation des Artistes ». Une fois la Tour achevée, un autre combat commence : assurer la pérennité de l’ouvrage, initialement prévu pour être démonté.

La construction de la Tour s’effectue en 26 mois seulement, du 28 Janvier 1887 au 30 mars 1889, dont 5 mois pour les seules fondations. Les 18 000 pièces tracées au dixième de millimètres dans les ateliers Eiffel de Levallois sont conduites par chariot sur le Champs de Mars où elles sont assemblées sur place, hissées par des grues autotractées sur les rails des futurs ascenseurs par une équipe d'environ 250 ouvriers. Ce gigantesque « mécano » nécessita la pose de 2 500 000 rivets, dont 1 000 000 posés sur le chantier.



Le succès est immédiat. La Tour devient très vite le symbole de Paris, et pour la plupart des étrangers, le symbole de la France tout entière. Ces dernières années, elle attire près de 7 millions de visiteurs par an, pour un total de plus de 250 millions depuis son ouverture.


En 1890, Gustave Eiffel s’attaque à un autre projet pharaonique : un ingénieux « pont sous marin » sous la manche qui, s’il est finalement refusé pour des raisons purement politiques, préfigure déjà nettement ce que deviendra « l’Eurotunnel », 104 ans plus tard.